The story so far...


During Autumn/ Spring and Summer terms 2016-17 poetry workshops will have taken place in the following schools:

  • Tenbury Primary
  • Burford Primary
  • Bayton Primary
  • Lindridge Primary
  • Kimbolton Primary
  • St Michaels College - Tenbury Wells
  • Tenbury High School Ormiston Academy

The workshops have been delivered by members of the group Border Poets

Our thanks to:

Jean Atkin 

Poet & Writer in Education & Community (07504 649 150) email: 

Jean Atkin works as a poet, writer and educator, and lives in Shropshire. Her first collection Not Lost Since Last Time was published by Oversteps Books in 2013, and she also has published pamphlets with Roncadora Press and Ravenglass Press, and a children’s novel The Crow House.

Paul Francis

Paul was  appointed poet in residence for the Wenlock Poetry Festival, 2016. One of the themes for the festival was sonnets, and as part of the build-up he posted a sonnet each week . You can find them here:

Chris Kinsey

Chris Kinsey is the author of three poetry collections: Kung Fu Lullabies and Cure for a Crooked Smile (Ragged Raven Press) and Swarf (Smokestack Books). Muddy Fox has just been released by The Rack Press. She was BBC Wildlife Poet of the year and won Natur Cymru’s prose competition in 2012. She was Oriel Davies’ first Writer-in-Residence and has developed Creative Writing with people of all ages and abilities.

Tina Cole

Tina Cole is an active member of The Border Poets group of writers

Her poems have appeared in a number of magazines including Mslexia,  Aesthetica, Red Ink and Decanto magazines, and a poem in The Guardian Newspaper following David Morley’s Poetry Workshop. She is involved with writing and reading poetry in and around Shropshire, Worcestershire and Herefordshire and local festivals. Her first collection, I Almost Knew You was published in 2015.


The aim of these workshops is to develop interest in poetry  and creative writing

Our thanks to these poets , also to Liz & Pat and all the staff and pupils in the participating schools